the myth of meritocracy

Here’s a bit of my guest post for The Book Smugglers’ Young Adult Appreciation Month:

Everything we experience in life prepares us for what’s next. At least, that’s what I like to believe. I grew up not being the favorite in my family, which means I got used to my big brother getting the largest slice of pie and I struggled mightily to escape my older sister’s imposing shadow. Birth order may have something to do with the person I’ve become, but I like to believe that, ultimately, my childhood prepared me to recognize and reject “the myth of meritocracy.” I learned early on that I would always have to work harder to be seen and heard; no matter my talents or achievements, to some I would always be invisible.

What better preparation for life as a black feminist writer?

Yesterday Thea and Ana posted an AMAZING joint review of Wish—what an honor!  This YA author *definitely* feels appreciated…

~ by elliottzetta on July 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
