Rhymes, Views & News

Coming up on August 8th I’ll be a guest on poet/publisher DuEwa Frazier‘s web radio show, Rhymes, Views & News.  I first met DuEwa a few years ago when she accepted a couple of my poems for her anthology, Check the Rhyme: An Anthology of Female Poets and Emcees.  The book went on to earn a nomination for an NAACP Image Award!  Do check out more of DuEwa’s books from her press, LitNoire Publishing.

I’m working on a book of poems for children, and that means I spent most of yesterday sifting through dozens of haiku that I’ve been collecting for YEARS…not all are suitable for kids, and that means I need to head over to the garden today and write some new kid-friendly haiku.  I want to have something I can share with children since most of my poetry is for teens or adults.  I sometimes use haiku to help me overcome writer’s block—what do you do?  Stop by Crazy Quilts to hear how Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich defines her mission as a writer.

Lastly, I’m getting a lot of love from Brooklyn this week!  Many thanks to Nostrand Park for reviewing A Wish After Midnight!  And if you’ve never heard me read before, check out Brooklyn the Borough–they’ve got video footage of my June reading at Franklin Park…

~ by elliottzetta on July 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Rhymes, Views & News”

  1. Hi Zetta,
    I’m looking forward to our interview next weekend!
    Thanks for posting.

    DF

  2. thank YOU for the invite! will re-post next week…

Leave a Reply

 
