coming up…

~ by elliottzetta on July 11, 2010.

7 Responses to “coming up…”

  1. Just saw you on Book TV. I am so happy for you. I love what you have to say. I am glad you have a voice and presence at the “table”

    • Thanks, Donna! I’m so grateful to Cheryl and Wade Hudson for inviting me to participate…

  2. I enjoyed watching you. It felt so good seeing black female writers, there’s not enough represented, many don’t know their out there. Black female writers don’t get the same representation as white writers, so thanks to the Harlem Book Fair, ones like me can learn about ones like you. I feel there needs to be more books for young black girls and young black adult females, were not represented widely enough in books and on book covers, and it definitely hurts our self=image. If we are represeented in fiction books, sometimes its usually sexual, furthering the sexualization of us. I would like to see more books on us in positive, influential, empowering situations, not just tragic or sexual situations, I think it will influence blacks and all people to see blacks in all walks of life and experiences. I know young black girls would like to read more, but they don’t see themselves enough in fictional book, so their not encouraged to read. It was instilled in me the importance to read, and growing up I mostly read books by white authors, that had white characters. I hardly read or saw anyone that looked like me on the cover. I didn’t realize it at the time, but looking back it helped in hurting my self-image. I felt black girls could never have a baby-sitters club (one of the books I read growing up), I never even seen a black girl included in the club or on the cover, and so I felt a black girl could never have that experience, but I realize in books, especially fictional, blacks should have been included in such stories, but they were omitted because it was felt they don’t have those type of experience, even in something fictional, there’s racism. I feel to bring the races together, blacks and white should be represented in books for our kids, to show we share more similarities than differences, it can help in the togetherness. I apologize for the long message, but I had so much to say. I will keep in touch with what your doing, and I would love to hear your story. I’ve always been interested in the black experience in Canada.

    • No apology necessary, Andrea! I agree–we definitely need a wider range of stories by and about black women. Growing up in Canada, I also read books with white protagonists, and it DOES have a lasting impact on you. I wrote about it here:

      http://www.hbook.com/magazine/articles/2010/mar10_elliott.asp

      The longer version of my life in Canada is in my memoir, Stranger in the Family. Keep writing!

  3. It was great to see you. The whold dicusion was wonderful.

  4. […] simply don’t cross my desk!” Yet how many of those well-meaning editors attended our panel on diversity in YA at the recent Harlem Book Fair? A literary event in an historically black neighborhood might be a […]

Leave a Reply

 
