a few more pages…

Have you ever started a book and been turned off by the very first line?  Thankfully, that didn’t happen when Katy at A Few More Pages started to read A Wish After Midnight:

This was a great way to start the book. It provides a nice visual and some insight into the narrator. She’s making a wish–what is she wishing for? The next paragraph explains, but I liked how the first paragraph immediately pulled me in.

Thanks, Katy!  I find myself obsessing somewhat over the opening line of my chapters, even…one came to me the other night:

I am different.  This is what I know.

And, of course, the opening line of the sequel to Wish, Judah’s Tale:

I may be a killer.  But I am not my father.

~ by elliottzetta on June 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
