Conversations Live!

Many thanks to Cyrus Webb for taking the time to chat with me on Blog Talk Radio.  You can listen to our half-hour segment here.  This was the excerpt from Wish that he read aloud:

Even though I was born in a time after segregation, I feel like Dr. Brant has just hung a “whites only” sign over the future I want to build for myself.  I can feel my cheeks burning, and my tongue starts to feel real slippery inside my mouth.  I don’t want to go off on my boss, but I also don’t want him to think he can talk to me any old way.  So I jack my chin up another inch and grip the armrests on my chair.  “I learned about psychiatry the same way anyone learns anything—from reading books.  It’s not my fault I used to be a slave.  If it weren’t for white folks and slavery, black people would be doing all kinds of things.  We just haven’t had the same opportunities.”

~ by elliottzetta on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
