another great review…

Yesterday I had the opportunity to sit in on a librarian book club meeting up in Westchester.  The monthly meetings are coordinated by Vanessa Irvin Morris, a street lit scholar who’s trying to introduce librarians to a genre that’s very popular with many urban library patrons (you can read my interview with Vanessa here).  The group had read A Wish After Midnight, and it was interesting to hear their feedback—one librarian noted that the writing in the second half of the book didn’t always sound like “young adult language.”  I’m *very* interested in that idea, because I’ve often felt that some YA books would be better if they didn’t *try* to mimic the way (authors think) teenagers talk.  I do feel, as I work on Judah’s Tale, that I’m writing the same way I would for an adult audience…we’ll see how that works out.  I don’t ever want to feel like I’m “dumbing things down” for teens—just because they’re younger doesn’t mean they aren’t sophisticated readers.  At any rate, I hope to get some writing done this weekend (why not?  it’s *freezing* outside!) and in the meantime, we got another great review from the Amazon Vine Program:

5.0 out of 5 stars An award-worthy book, January 27, 2010

jebi44 (Dallas, TX United States)

Given the thoughtful handling of the topic of racism (both modern day and civil war era), this is truly a book that is worthy of study in jr. high and high school literature or history classes. Although this is a time travel story, it is not too overly fantastical, so one need not be a sci fi fan to enjoy it thoroughly.

Fifteen year-old Genna lives with her family in Brooklyn. Her mother hates white people, which Genna struggles to understand. Genna is acquainted with an older white gentleman whom she often sees at the nearby arboretum, and he seems perfectly kind. One day Genna is whisked back to civil war days. At first, she is mistaken for a runaway slave. She must make her way as best she can, and can only hope that she will one day return to her own time.

This is a lovely story with a powerful message. Genna is a very likable character. Fans of historical fiction will especially enjoy this. Highly recommended for ANYONE 13 and up.

~ by elliottzetta on January 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “another great review…”

  1. Congrats on the great reviews! I’m really looking forward to WISH’s debut on the 16th! I’ll be adding the final copy to my library. I gave the extra ARC to my friend’s 11 year old daughter. I’m looking forward to reading it again and discussing it with her. I will let you know what she thinks.

  2. Thanks, Shadra! Some folks already got their pre-ordered books, so keep an eye out for it in Atlanta. I’ll be sending your signed copy as soon as my box arrives this week…

Leave a Reply

 
